silence

by Elizabeth de Barros

Imagine the day when every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord.

That is the day when all mouths will be silenced. In that day,  there will be no more boasting, no more speeches. No more bold promises. No more manipulation or hard sell. No more screaming or shouting, no more racial slurs. That day will bring an end to all foolish talk and coarse joking, smooth talk and the incantations of the wicked. They will all perish. Whispers and mutterings will cease. There will be no place for chit-chat, only room for silence and confession.

I love beautiful music and hearty conversation. In a room, my laugh is loudest. But for long stretches throughout my day, I am quiet. I have no need for T.V. or radio. Last time I saw it, my iPod was on the kitchen counter, in need of charging.

I am silent not for ascetic reasons, but for the purpose of hearing Him should He speak.

Jesus Christ is Lord.

Be silent before the Sovereign Lord, for the day of the Lord is near.

-Zephaniah 1:7

